I’ve been interviewing people all week, which can be tough, especially if they aren't very good. Depending on exactly how good they are dictates how much I end up daydreaming, and today it was not possible to keep focussed and my thoughts turn to the driver who had parked in the middle lane of the motorway whilst trying to decide which fork in the road to take.
I am amazed by the driving standards over here, perhaps I'm getting more observant or it generally is getting worse. I’ve seen a person cut right across 4 lanes of traffic on many occasions: that’s almost a normal way of driving.
Last night I saw a lorry turn out of a junction and join the traffic the opposite way just to get onto the road that he wanted to. Hard to explain, but he was coming out of a road on a one way slip road coming off the Lebuhraya Sprint, so he turned the wrong way up the slip road, into oncoming traffic, and then rejoined the main carriageway. Incredible.
And then there are the motorcycles that use the pedestrian bridge over the motorways to cross as a short cut, or rather than wait for the traffic lights.
And aggressive?! Never seen anything like it. One minute there is nothing behind you, the next there is some polite looking, supposedly mild mannered Malaysian right up your backside flashing their lights to get in front, and if you haven’t moved out of the way in a split second, they undertake you, cutting you up as they pull in front and speed up to the arse of the next car.
Amazing.
So, anyway, tell me what personal qualities you would bring to this role, should you be successful...