December 16, 2011

Trains, Planes And Automobiles. And Queues.

Off to Phuket today – I had forgotten to get a taxi organised, so I ask Xinke to get one of the ones through work, which is a bit of an expensive luxury to be honest… but was good to be whisked away in limo luxury to KL Sentral to get the train the LCCT (I wish they'd rebrand it and stop calling it "Low Cost...") – well, train and then a coach. It’s a lot cheaper than a taxi all the way there, but I’d rather be in a car than train and then changing. I would be OK if I knew how long it would all take, especially as I don’t like rushing at airports.

Anyway, the relatively decent train journey and coach are in fact better as you don’t have to leave your chances to the traffic, so was good in the end.

We get to the scummy LCCT really early and after food in a fly ridden place selling chicken rice, I stand in the long queue to drop my checked baggage in. What I hate about all this is that Air Asia make it so easy for you to check in online or use the kiosks etc, and then make it very hideous to drop a bag off – and the queue is immobile (not helped by some twat at the front arguing with the ground staff) before someone behind me spots the fact the ‘1 bag only’ queue is empty – so we all get out of the stationary line and I leave my bags there. I head to through immigration (amazingly smooth) before Arif walks off and says something about needing to get his documents verified. 

What?

Apparently after you quickly check in online and print your boarding pass in the comfort of your own home etc, you then need to queue up in a long line to get someone to check your passport and travel documents. Erm, isn’t that what checking in at a desk is supposed to do? Why bother doing it all yourself if, at the airport, you need to basically check in again. Fucking Pointless.

He did say that if you were late you didn’t need to get your documents checked. 

What?

It would have been quicker and less queuing to just check in manually in the first place! Oh well, we were through everything and all we had to do was wait the 2 hours now for our flight.

Which was late.

Grr.

No comments: