July 25, 2010

Apartment hunting

Wake up early again with the alarm as I have my induction to Malaysia with Jo-Ann, the representative for the relocation services out here. She talks about driving over here, and where the better shopping centres are etc, and she’s really sweet. Then she takes me to her colleague, Kelly, who is going to take me round a load of apartments today – I hope I find something that I want!

We start in Bangsar – this is an area that I wanted to live in, as it even sounds trendy! There are loads of shopping malls and restaurants, and it is relatively near to the bus and train stations, so getting about is easy. We drive round some great places in what looks like a really fantastic residential part of the city, great mansion houses residential gated tower blocks, loads of shopping etc. I can see myself here!

The first place we look at is called Bangsar Tivoli: this ancient old Chinese thing opened the door and there was a smell that was probably due to damp or mould wafting out of the place. I was really really disappointed but tried to contain my feelings as it was the first place I had seen.

The place needed doing up really badly, and there was mildew and black mould on the shower curtain in the bathroom and the kitchen looked like it needed a really good scrub. Such a shame, as I really imagined that when I had heard someone commenting that the apartments in Bangsar were all a bit dowdy and old, I imagined they were being picky. They weren't.

Anyway, with the owner practically begging me to make a decision on this place we left and moved to the next one: the Nomad Residences properties (the ones that were sent through by the relocation people), which looked amazing. And they were: lovely reception, great apartment, fantastic pool but they were not available until October!! Shit! Things were not looking good and I was really quite disheartened.

Next on the list was Sri Penaga, which was a million times better than Tivoli, if not a bit old fashioned: quite a decent complex, shops, fit man by the pool, and the apartment is actually OK – things are looking up again and I can see myself here actually: even though the place is a little dated – they ought to update these apartments really, as they are not that cheap and we international travellers do expect a home from home really.

Anyway, we move from there to Mont Kiara – and I didn’t really want to like anything here as it seemed a bit far away from any public transport. However, the first place - Tiffani - was probably the nicest place I have seen all day: we were shown two in the block, both brand new and ready for me to move into! Where do I sign!?

I am dragged away from there to the IZen apartments: a bit smaller than the others and you have to sort of go outside to a zen-type garden to get to the bedrooms. Very nice, and very modern, but maybe not for me, seeing as I would probably get pissed and fall over the wooden platforms over the white stones to get to bed…

The landlord (Peter) was very keen to let to me as well, which was nice, but I still have a few others to see. Tiffani is still my favourite, then IZen. Bangsar does not even come a close 19th.

We had to park underground as the visitors parking was full, but even following the exit signs Keluar couldn’t get out. Not even after asking the guard, who pointed us in the directions that we had come from already and been round twice! Grr!

Our last stop, after finally escaping the car park of doom, was a couple of apartments in an ultra modern, new (I.e. unfinished) block above a massive shopping centre called Solaris Dutamas.

They looked fine actually, and indeed they were. The owner met us and let us park (underground, argh!) in the residents parking and took us to the apartment. It was fucking fantastic! I loved it, and it was really me. The other one in the block, same price but a bit smaller (actually better use of space) was better in my opinion: better view, nice furniture etc, and Kelly took me to see another one in a third block with even nice furniture. I want any of the last 4 that I have seen – Tiffani first, then the last one then the mad woman’s one and then Peter’s.


No comments: