August 1, 2010

KLCC, The Three Jayas and Scary Taxi

I decide to go shopping in KLCC. I need to start thinking about what to furnish the flat with, as I think that the one I am going for has hardly anything in. I shan’t be going to any of the places that are advertised as full page spreads in the newspaper: who the hell would buy any of this crap?

The concierge guy calls me one of the executive cabs (as I am a VIP, of course) and then jumps in to share a ride into town! I jokingly say we can slit the cost and he laughs, babbles something Chinese to the driver and off we go. He has clearly ignored my ‘joke’ about sharing the (50RM) fare – cheeky git! After several hours of shopping and people watching I decide to head back about 5 ish to the hotel: the fare ‘sharing’ concierge told me that it would be easier to get a train from KLCC to Jaya and then pick up a cab from there, as there would be loads and it would be a lot quicker (we had, in fairness, been stuck in traffic outside KLCC on the way in this morning, so it was nice of him to tell me a better way of getting back).

There were 3 ‘Jaya’s on the train map: and I didn’t know which one was the one the ride stealing concierge meant.  I don’t actually think he said anything other than “Jaya”, so after a quick consult with my iPhone Google map application, I settled for the Jaya at the end of the line, and off we went. As the train emerged from under the city, the weather had completely changed: it was like a monsoon – rain lashing down and winds blowing, amazing!

These 2 boys got on the train at Bangsar and they were the most ridiculously camp things you could imagine – playing with their hair, being very over expressive, giggling at everything behind their hands – ridiculous! One of them kept looking over, and I managed to completely avoid his eyes – I did manage to surreptitiously take a couple of photos thought, and I am sure the woman next to me saw what I was up to…

Finally reached Kelang Jaya, and it wasn’t immediately clear where I’d find a taxi from, so I hunted round the place and came across what can only be described as more of a scrap yard that a taxi rank, and all these really beaten up old Proton cars with broken windscreens, dented doors etc. Hmm, not sure this was the Jaya that the concierge was talking about, but it was pissing with rain and I wanted to get back to the hotel. As I got into the cab – noticing that the meter had long since been ripped out – I negotiated a price and no sooner than I had agreed 15RM, this scraggy old hag gets in behind me and slams the door, and I’ve suddenly become another share-taxi! This did feel a bit odd, and I got a bit concerned when we came off the main road and went hurtling along all these pot-holed back roads, in the pissing monsoon rain, and the driver on his phone turning to me and saying, I think, that the way we were going was a short cut!

My over imaginative imagination was getting the better of me and I was playing out scenarios of me being dumped in the middle of nowhere, in the pouring rain, whilst this old hag and the taxi driver stole all my stuff and left me for dead! The shortcut seemed to be going away from where I wanted to go and then he stopped the car...

Oh shit, what was to become of me?!

..and let the woman out, who paid her fare, bit him and me farewell, and we went on our way, in the correct direction and back at the hotel 5 minutes later safe and sound, him having chatted at me about his children and whether I was married or not, whilst I sat there in fear.

Silly arse.

No comments: