October 30, 2011

Halloween - Resurrection

The event was actually OK in the end (another cocktail tower later, plus a bit more food) and we left, pissed, at about 1 am. In the efforts to try and find the car (we’d lost it!) we were up and down in the lift, getting off at the wrong floor. Another car park nightmare!

We were not the only ones: a group of costume wearing girls we doing the same, and we kept meeting them getting into our lift. They were dressed as Snow White, Supergirl, Wonder Woman and Catwoman. I am not sure they got the concept of Halloween…

We eventually found our way out, and home, drunk, at about 2.

Halloween - 20 Years Later

With the party in full swing, this guy came up to me whilst I was wearing my face restraint mask and introduced himself and his girlfriend to me and asked if I wanted a kiss – from his girlfriend! That was a bit horrific, and I just slowly shook my head (slightly in character of Hannibal Lector, to which I was rather pleased with myself about) and I think they were both a bit taken aback!

I was also asked to dance by this girl with an incredible big nose – I had to double check that it was actually part of a costume (it was) but I was more interested in getting more drink and pizza down me and in a group that had turned up with a baby.

A baby – at a smoke filled, noisy nightclub with people wearing scary costumes - not exactly a creche! I think they were Middle Eastern, and it might be part of their culture. In fact, of all the sights here I think that was probably the scariest. I did contemplate going up to the mother and saying liked babies with fried shallots and a little Chianti, but thought better of it. Instead I just stared at it through my mask, and tried   surreptitiously getting into all the photos they were taking of it - I'd love to see their faces when they upload those pictures...

Later on I saw the big nosed witch dancing provocatively with another white guy and realised I'd escaped that horror, luckily.

Halloween - Return Of Michael Myers

I am dying for a drink, so I order 4 gin and tonics (not all for me!) whilst we are waiting and after that, things don’t seem so bad after all. 

After a few drinks (the "Cointreaupolitan Cocktail Tower" finally arrives, minus alcohol, seemingly - what a HORROR!!), the evening is pretty good – most people made an effort to dress up in costumes and at one point, a load of people arrived wearing fantastic zombie outfits, mingling amongst the crowd.

I wonder if the site of these zombiefied party-goers made those people that had dressed with bunny ears realise that they were at the wrong party? 

Halloween - Season Of The Witch

Fed up with waiting, we walk past the queues for tables and head to the bar instead. It looked like people were ordering food and drinks here anyway, so we try to order our free booze, only to be met with the staff just pointing towards another part of the bar for redemption of our voucher.

Only to be told by the rather stressed out witch that we need to have a seat to get the free drink and food. It was ridiculous, and no one was moving from the already 100% occupied seats. I tried a few Hannibal Lector stares, but that didn't seem to work. Adrian expresses our displeasure that it’s not good to oversell the vouchers and she agrees that we can have our stuff at the bar (in fact others were too…) and so we order our sustenance.

We had managed to find a relatively empty part of the bar, with a console table that would be OK to eat from... and waited for our treats to arrive.

Halloween II

We arrive at the G Tower at about 8.30 and try to work out where to go. I can hear The Cranberry's "Zombie" playing, so assume that's the direction we need to be heading in - and make our way downstairs to the party...

The queue is huge to get in and we suspect that the organisers have oversold the event, and we have to wait for ages in a queue in the shopping centre underneath the Tower with a load of young people. I feel old – good job I have a total face mask I can use to hide my age…

The queue isn't moving particularly fast and after about half an hour, one of the organisers come to us and checks our names, and we have a go at her about having to wait so long – apparently you can’t get the pizza and booze until you are seated, and there are no seats left: what a load of crap!
Anyway, we ask whether we can just go and stand in the bar and wait, rather than in the queue, and she (sensing that we were about to commit some real horror) says that it was OK, and she’ll come and find us when there was a free table. Sounded ok… 

Halloween

I have signed up for the Groupon Malaysia discount thing where you can get some fairly good discounts for things like restaurants, holidays, treatments, events etc - and one of them billed as  “Admission to Halloween Party at House, G Tower for 4 people. Includes 1.2L Cointreaupolitan Cocktail Tower + 1 Large Pizza for RM55 instead of RM99.50” - sounds fun, so a group of us (Adrian, Edwin and Elynn) are going there tonight. 

After dragging myself to the gym at The Curve with Adrian and Edwin, we head to this party shop nearby to buy some accessories for tonight - face masks, horns etc in preparation for tonight's do...

We head there, all dressed to kill, at about 8...

October 29, 2011

Bread? No-la!

Having met up for a few drinks last night and getting pretty wrecked, I wake up and get paracetamol and Zantac down me before going back to bed again as I feel like death, raising only again at about 10. I had planned (in a drunken lapse of better judgement) to go to the gym with Adrian and Edwin but they haven’t sent a message so I assumed it was off. Phew.

Instead, I decide to head down to the new supermarket downstairs that’s just opened – called Ben’s Independent Grocer’s (BIG).

How fantastic is this place – loads of lovely things and not too expensive either (well not everything anyway) – it's far better than that Village Grocer in Mont Kiara (where I vowed I'd never step foot in again after that incident...) and Cold Storage, so that makes it even better. 

If you get peckish wandering the aisle, you can grab something at the deli located in the middle of the store, or at one of the cafes around the place. Even better than all the assistants smiling at you helping you with choices from the shelves and recommending (rather expensive) bottles of wine to go with the (rather expensive) joints of meat was the man that pushes your trolley!

God, I sound like an advert, but I LOVE IT!

Oh. One of the items I actually needed was a loaf of bread. Guess what? The only thing that it didn’t appear to sell was bread. Weird. 

Wondermilk


Whilst I have been in the UK, a number of new shops have opened downstairs in Publika, so I explore with Arif before taking him to the airport. We have a coffee and a couple of delicious cup cakes in Wondermilk, a new café – but was slightly disappointed with the selection of cakes available, but I guess it was late in the day. 

The nice thing about the cupcakes here is that they are small, so you can have 4 without feeling bad...

I am really looking forward to all the other shops opening here over the next few weeks or so – especially the new supermarket that I’ll try out at the weekend.