I knew taking Air Asia was probably a bad thing to do as my
final experience of Malaysia. I’d checked in online, but I couldn’t print the
boarding pass so I sent the 2D bar code to my phone. Apparently you can just
scan it and print off your pass at the airport.
Well, it doesn’t work – fucking typical, and the queue for
the check in kiosks is huge. What’s the fucking point of having all this
technology when it just doesn’t seem to work – ever! Anyway, I have a go at one
of the ground staff, and he tries to help me by checking me in again, but of
course he can’t, so I can’t get my boarding pass.
Brilliant. So I go to the
Premier Lane and this rather lovely member of staff just says that nothing’s a
problem, and she takes my passport and I drop my luggage off – it’s 40 kg (wow,
a lot more than I thought) and she has to charge me the excess (400MYR) but apparently there is problem with my account and the payment has been declined.
How very dare she. There's nothing wrong with my account... she just put in all the information in
incorrectly and I am pissed off with this experience now. I go to get cash and
come back with the 400MYR, telling her that there is no problem with my card at
all, it must have been her. Anyway, all done, I want to get through the
final hurdle – immigration – and head up the escalators, waving goodbye to Arif who's seen me off, and prepare myself for a final interrogation as I leave.
The guard looked at my visa and took a deep breath... and I was about to kick off, when in fact, all he said was "your final day here, I hope you enjoyed it?"
"Yes. Yes, I have!"
Very much indeed.
No comments:
Post a Comment